Donald Michael Kraig

Donald Michael Kraig died yesterday.

His book, Modern Magick, was an inspiration to me from a very young age.  I first read it when I was about fifteen, I think, and I worked my way through it lesson by lesson, one month per (but I cheated!  I used lunar months!  They’re shorter!) chapter.  I made all the tools.  I memorized all the rituals.  All of them.  When I got to college and was introduced to Hegel, my first thought was “Oh, DMK talked about him.”  In a very real way, he was my inspiration in magic.  He showed me that magic could be real, rational, a way of life more than a style choice.  He taught me how it was a system that aligned with cosmology, ethics, philosophy, art, and the list goes on.  Magic, he taught me, isn’t something you do.  It’s something you are.

It’s our job now to remember the meaning that his life had, and a life has meaning in relationships with others.  His work had a tremendous influence on many, many magicians, and as the meaning of a life goes, that’s a pretty good one.  Another thing we can do, of course, is help pay the bills of his medical care and funeral costs.  You can do that here.

One Response to “Donald Michael Kraig”

  1. Reblogged this on S.'. E.'. F.'..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

