Building on the first question. What do you consider to be fundamental skills? Which ones provide the most value/utility and what ways have you worked to develop your skills? Which ones have been the most challenging and why?

That’s a really, really hard question. In my first book, I list three skills I think are important: imagination, introspection, and authority. I still agree with that. I think I’d add a few techniques to the list, at least. For example, I agree with Jason Miller as to the importance of meditation. I particularly find mindfulness meditation useful, not just for magic but for life. Other than that, the ability to maintain and control mental images is extremely important. Finally, I think discrimination is necessary: you need to understand the difference between reality and wishful thinking to do good magic. For me, the hardest skill is the simplest: relaxation. I get excited and anxious pretty easily, and so I have to make a concentrated effort to calm down several times a day, and several times during a working. I also have a bit of trouble with imagining spatial relationships, always have, and that can gum up some visualizations.

One Response to “Building on the first question. What do you consider to be fundamental skills? Which ones provide the most value/utility and what ways have you worked to develop your skills? Which ones have been the most challenging and why?”

  1. “Finally, I think discrimination is necessary: you need to understand the difference between reality and wishful thinking to do good magic.”

    Hi Patrick, can you please elaborate on this point? Does this mean one should only do a working where the desired outcome would be…probable, I guess, or within one’s realistic imagining?

    And on that point, how specific should one be in establishing a goal to a working? Is it better to point the working in a direction as opposed to a micro-managed road map? Or does it pay to be distinct?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

