Connecting with community

I’ve been in my current location for nigh on three years now, I guess, and I just got around to trying to contact some of the local community.  By local, I mean in my ‘burb.  Obviously, I know several people in the City itself.  But that’s an hour drive and no parking, not to mention horrific traffic.  So I had coffee and some sandwiches with a local coven.

It wasn’t unpleasant.  Some interesting people, certainly.  I felt downright staid, which tells you something, I think.  And, of course, there was the usual pagan hugging thing, which I fended off with a strategically held copy of Ioan Couliano.  I’m much more a hand-shake kind of guy.  Several of the people I spoke to seemed to have great senses of humor, which matters a lot to me.  And they all seemed very active and dedicated.

So that was nice.  I need to do stuff like that more often, even if it does mean walking away from my beautiful, beautiful Macbook for a couple hours.

2 Responses to “Connecting with community”

  1. Sorry about that I will just offer a handshake next time. I didn’t want you to feel left out. It was a pleasure to have you drop by our little social event. Feel free to come by any time. Every 2nd Wednesday. I was looking for your book and this site was the first thing that poped up on a search. Maybe I can learn something new about magick.

    • pomomagic Says:

      Hey, it’s all good. I understand the tradition; I’m just a standoffish midwestern boy at heart, though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

