Quotidian Stuff

I have two new interests.  Money, and power.

Money fascinates me because I can’t figure out what it symbolizes.  Not time, not effort, not work.  It seems to symbolize “value,” but if that’s the case, it’s a concretization of the abstractest of abstracts.

Power interests me because it doesn’t seem to exist.  If you define it as the ability to achieve desires and act with maximum freedom, for every desire you achieve you have to give up others.  I’ll never be a rock star; no time with my writing and my other work.  And every freedom you gain comes with attendant responsibilities; just ask any teenager who grew up and found out that staying out until four in the AM wasn’t always such a good idea, even if you could.

So those, and trying to buy a new house, are my interests.  I’m also kicking around new book ideas.  Maybe one on divination, or better yet, one on “sane magic.”  Like, how can one be a critical thinker and still believe in magic?  I’d enjoy writing that book.  I’m not sure anyone but me and my friends would enjoy reading it.

3 Responses to “Quotidian Stuff”

  1. I’m enjoying your book, by the way. It’s going slowly, because I’m actually paying attention. So far I haven’t had to actually write “Bullshit!!!” in the margins as a reminder to ask you what you meant in section X,Y. I definitely feel like you’ve written this book more directly to someone of my interests in magic than Pomo was written. As soon as I get around to finishig the read, I’ll post a review on me blog.

    Money and Power are two of my favorite topics. Maybe go back and re-read Heinlein for an understanding of both in a sort of postmodern perspective. I read his Puppet Masters a couple weeks ago, and it rocked. It touches on all your questions about money and power, and it still tells a neat sci-fi tale. I also love his representation of radical femininism (as opposed to feminism). WOWIO has an online copy free for reading.

    http://www.wowio.com/users/product.asp?BookId=69

    I think I finished it in an afternoon.

  2. I think money as symbolizing not power, but leverage. Capability. You have to thnk of every greenback as a servant.

  3. I’m perfectly aware that this is an ancient post, and if you don’t have email notifications, you may never see this response. But I have to say, I would read that hypothetical critical-thinking book.

    I would read the HELL out of it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

